Sunflower

If I were a flower

I would be a sunflower

standing tall in the face of life

facing the troubled times in strength

not letting them crush me down.

 

Looking the life in its eye

smiling with the sun in joy

and when it would hide behind them clouds

waiting to be in its shine again

with hope and faith in my heart.

 

Flying away with the winds

taller and stronger would I be

never abandoning my roots

inspiring joys and sharing laughs

like the beautiful petals spread across.

 

Seeking the sun of life

spreading the truth like the brown seeds

humble throughout the journey

composed, contained and at peace

with all that life would throw at me.

 

And when life’s summer would be over,

bidding farewell in grace

if I were a flower

I would be a sunflower

a happy yellow, a rooted brown and a peaceful green.

Leave a Reply

